Student Awards and Scholarships

Young Energy Infrastructure Professionals Award

A $1,000 prize is offered annually by the Young Pipeliners Association of Canada (YPAC) now known as Young Energy Infrastructure Professionals (YEIP) to an outstanding third or fourth year undergraduate engineering student who successfully completed at least two of the following courses related to pipeline engineering: IGEN 450, IGEN 451, and IGEN 452. The successful candidate should be an active participant in current industry events. The prize is made on the recommendation of the Director of the Pipeline Integrity Institute in the Faculty of Applied Science.

Award Recipients:

  • 2017-2018: Quinn Richardson
  • 2018-2019: Ryan Stewart
  • 2019-2020: Jezarah Ebel
  • 2020-2021: Jasper Lee
  • 2021-2022: Ibrahim Kawasme
  • 2022-2023: Jonathan Fang

Canadian Energy Pipeline Association Award in Pipeline Engineering

Awards totaling $5,000 are offered annually by the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association for outstanding undergraduate and graduate students in the UBC Faculty of Applied Science who have excelled in a related UBC pipeline engineering course.  Preference will be given to candidates who are (1) First Nations, Inuit, or Metis students of Canada or (2) women. This academic award is made on the recommendation of the Faculty of Applied Science, and in the case of a graduate student, in consultation with the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

Award Recipients:

  • 2019-2020: Jezarah Ebel ($2,000), Rene Prakasa Rao ($1,500), and Kaiya Yamada ($1,500)
  • 2020-2021: Caroline Zulkoski ($2,000), Yunxi Wang ($1,000), Brandon Jang ($1,000), and Jasper Lee ($1,000)
  • 2021-2022: Tristan Flock ($3,000) and Simon Wang ($2,000)
  • 2022-2023: Sijia Jin ($1,665), Ailish Chauhan ($1,665), Tejbir Bindra ($1,665)